Journey Through Time

By Sue

Tiptoe Through The Tulips

Tiptoe Through the Tulips....with Tiny Tim.

This image was chosen because I wanted you to feel like you were right in the middle of the tulip field. Make that image larger and you are there...sort of.

I drove to Woodland, WA to Holland Bulb Farm and the tulips were just gorgeous. It sprinkled twice but the sun peaked out, too, which was glorious. I was there long enough to take about 135 photos, but if you want, you can see the 50 I posted to my Flickr page. This place has a show field and then it has a picking field which is open to the public on the weekends of the tulip festival only. But it's all available for photography. Yay!

This lady and her adult daughter and I got to talking and she had the exact same camera as me and she was enrolled in an on-line photography class through some school in Pennsylvania. It's a full on Associate Degree in Photography. She was nice and I thought...oh! tell her about my favorite local photographers and their websites. So, I say, well, you should check out this one guy's photos as he is a wonderful wildlife photographer (these gals had just come from the Refuge in Ridgefield). So, his name is....is.....ummm.....Gary Davenport! Look for that on google and you can find him. Wonderful photos. (hmmm, that doesn't sound right, I think.) Oh, and this other guy is in Portland and he takes fantastic shots in and around Mt. Hood and he does fantastic night shots and his name is....... ummm

Brain goes into full shutdown mode. We have a server error, that connection cannot be made. 404 Not Found, unavailable. Danger Will Robinson Danger.

I stood there looking like a complete idiot, feeling like the confused old lady that I probably looked like....thinking...oh crap. I hate it when I have a senior moment. The only senior moment I like is this one.

Well, I say, search for that Davenport photography guy and then search for photographers Mt. Hood and maybe they will pop up. Really, they are fantastic photographers. You probably don't believe me, because my brain just quit, but it's true.

Re-boot brain. Access files, please. Denied. No! Try again. Denied. NO, NO...I CAN DO THIS! Shoot...not there, not anywhere...gone.

We bid farewell, I wish her luck with her schooling, and get in the car. Driving home, the name Davenport, Davenport keeps jumping around in there, trying to find the connection. Then BINGO! DENNIS DAVENPORT PHOTOGRAPHY! Well, I had it half right.

Then BINGO! GARY RANDALL PHOTOGRAPHY Had that one half right too.

Too late to tell this lady, so I'll tell you. Both these guys are wonderful photographers. Dennis does wildlife (much of it at Ridgefield Refuge) and Gary does landscape and the most gorgeous nighttime photos. I highly recommend you stopping by their web sites.

Well, I had fun tiptoeing through the tulips, and if you manage to get through my top 50 in the tulip parade, I guess you will think you tromped through the field with me. Also....we took photos of this lovely couple who posed for us and on the way home, I saw this country place with blue flowers on their property and I had to pull over to get that. Then a quick stop in Woodland to get a lilac already in full bloom and a bit of the lake that is there. That's at the end of the tulip images. If you make it that far.

Have a good one, and catch ya later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.