pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

What a ceiling

You know those jobs that you keep putting off and putting off? I got a bunch of those done today and it felt gooood.

Even took care of some personal admin which felt good too. I’ve gone back and forth on a couple of things with Project House with my builder and I coming to the agreement that he should have all my money. I won’t lie, this felt less good. Part of it is going on a newel post (apparently there’s no such thing as cheaper “oldel” post) and accompanying spindles: “you don’t want the kids falling down the stairs, do you Dunk?” I did a quick cost benefit analysis and worked out that I could probably come out ahead if only one of them broke no more than one non-essential limb each year. 

However, judging by the look of horror on the builder’s face, I had obviously paused where an immediate response should have followed, so I rallied and assured him “No Mick, obviously not. Spindle me up, fella and let’s double down on those posts.”

I’ve also bitten the bullet and decided to replace the colourful window, which although aesthetically pleasing, has the heat retaining capabilities of crepe paper.

The newly lowered ceiling is now starting to be boarded out as the builder makes way for the plasterer on the top floor. The big push to the finish is on and I’m hoping he’ll be done within the next two weeks.

<clenched teeth emoji face thing>

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.