Bevvy

Just as a wee follow up on my Covid 19 comments yesterday, a couple of weeks ago I was speaking to the person I suspect of forcing the in-person meeting on Tuesday.

The conversation was about a different angle to pandemic life, but at one point he announced something along the lines of:-

"We can't keep hiding from this forever

I was a little shocked, and then outraged. To characterise people following public health advice as "hiding" is the kind of idiot language someone like Johnson uses to tune in with the selfish and stupid. 

A few years ago I spent 3 weeks working (as a volunteer) in Ghana and every night I slept under a mosquito net. We all did. When we walked to the pub most evenings about 5pm, I put on insect repellent. We all did. 

Was I "hiding" from the mosquitos?

We spent a weekend at Mole National Park, and one of the things the hotel management told us was to lock the doors of our rooms at night. The local baboons had figured out that guest bedrooms might have food in them, and they knew how to open a door. That's what I did of course, and they definitely tried to open my door in the early morning (they were crashing about on the roof as well, so not it was not the maid). 

Anyway, was I "hiding" from the baboons?

On a more cheery note, this morning I noticed the farm shop is selling its own cider. I had an urge (yes, at 9:30) to taste the cider made from apples grown in the orchard where I was drinking my coffees last summer. 

So, I stuck two bottles in my trolley. Poor fool. At checkout the young lady reminded me they cannot sell alcohol before 10am. Effing government. She agreed I was unlikely to sit and drink it in the car park, but would not accept my promise to keep it a secret if she were to exercise her judgement on the matter.  

I trundled off to have a coffee and wait for 10am to arrive. 

It has been worth the kerfuffle. Extremely dry, but as you can see from the label, every last drop of sugar has been converted to alcohol. I can hardly see the keyboard. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.