Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Limbo again

Almost exactly two years ago to the day, I blipped a photo of my suitcase lying packed and ready to go in my hall. I didn't know if we'd be going anywhere, but we were supposed to be leaving for Cyprus a couple of days later. Since then I have packed said suitcase on several occasions, but only for holidays in the UK - in Scotland, in fact. Today I realised I have lost the knack of packing for Abroad.

That'll be why it's taken me so much time and effort today to get this far. I'm no longer able to lug this case down the stairs once it's packed, even though it's a wonderfully light case and though it looks stuffed it'll still be well below the weight limit, with the result that I've been up and down stairs like a mad thing for most of the morning and a few other times besides. The astute/interested/alert among you may have noticed I've not yet shared the impact of my Christmas Apple Watch on my life, and I shall spend a blip some night on the delights of cutting-edge computer technology on the wrist, but I have to tell you that today my packing closed all my rings by dinner time instead of late in the evening. (Your activity during the day is measured by three concentric, coloured rings, for exercise, movement and standing up; I've not had it for long enough yet to have influenced it to change from the factory settings.) It seemed to think (via the green ring) that I'd done a workout ...

Anyway, I was reminded of the two-year-old blip tonight when we heard on the news that Covid infection rates in Scotland are higher now than they've ever been. In the previous blip I worried about being quarantined in a foreign hotel; now the thought is we'll catch Covid on the plane from Glasgow full of infectious Scots. On the other hand, they could all be ancients like us, shielded from the pestilence brought home by the maskless young. We shall see.

Oh, and there are gales promised for Sunday. Sunday, when we have to take the ferry to drive to the airport. Happy days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.