Down to Earth

The last couple of days I have had quite "big" subjects - the Cathedral and our home planet. Today though it is back to the mundane - my afternoon cup of coffee (milk, no sugar...) made by Brian after he fetched me home from my Dad's. It's in one of my favourite mugs, bought to replace one bought me by Jeri that I loved - I was gutted when I managed to knock it off the kitchen worktop! These mugs are a good size and you get a decent sized drink. I was given the postcard free when I bought some stuff at Paperchase  last month!

It is good to have a little while to sit and relax - I had a good few jobs to do at my Dad's today.

I also bought eggs for home from the village butcher. Well, I say "bought" - I have yet to pay for them! I had only loose change in my purse yesterday - £20-worth - which I took to work and changed for a note. That note is still in my work coat pocket and I had no cash on me. The butchers' does not take cards. I was appalled to be in this position as our shop don't take cards either and I know how annoying it can be when you ring up an order and the customer has no means of paying for it! Fortunately he said I can drop in the money on Monday!

I was hoping to use a shot I had taken in the early hours of this morning of the very ancient chair we have in the shop. But I had got it at such a weird angle that no-one would believe it was even a chair, so I will have to have another go at that sometime...

Work again tonight. Last night was very quiet for a Friday. Quiet in the business sense at least. Hekmat decided to smash up some of the old, damaged tiles with a chisel and large lump-hammer. My head was banging for the rest of the night - and not in a good way! The fact that some of the tiles were smashed by falling glass is quite shocking considering the effort taken to break them up for removal. The person who put their foot through the window really is lucky to have escaped unmaimed!

Oh yeah - all was well at Metheringham!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.