Mandarin

Today is an unusual day where the routine was disrupted by outside forces, as happens from time to time. The two youngest grandsons have Covid so we have not risked going over to visit Jeri and the crew. 

We had a lazy late start following a late finish for me at work last night. The night at work ended better than it started. Once again Hekmat was working on the tiles - surely there would be a better time to do that than a weekend night? It wasn't busy though perhaps all the wailing cutting equipment and hammering played a part in that.

My head felt weird - like it was full of static, not helped by the hammering, though the cutting sounds were strangely calming. I was struggling to concentrate and kept making mistakes. I decided this had to stop, so I took advantage of a quiet spell to go into a little trance, think helpful thoughts, breathe deeply and let my brain generally defrag. After that, things improved.

We got a bit busier later on after the racket had stopped, all the customers were friendly and easy to serve! We had a few good tips too!

Anyway - back to today! After showering and much swearing in the Shower From Hell I caught up on yesterday's Rugby League, then it was decided we would go for a walk round Millennium Lake.

It was a bit overcast and breezy, but the sun did put in an appearance, the birds were singing and there was lots of wildlife to see. A bee, a small tortoiseshell butterfly and a wide selection of waterfowl including tufted ducks, Egyptian geese and this stunning Mandarin duck! These are so colourful and fancy, they don't look quite real! 

Now I'm going to go and do nothing more demanding than Blip comment. My brain needs a proper break! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.