Home

Today I went to space on Bezos' cock-rocket!

Or at least I went to The Collection museum to see Luke Jerram's installation of the Earth - Gaia. Turns out I could have seen it yesterday after all. The Collection now occupies two buildings. The one I visited yesterday was closed but the other part -where this is on show -  was open, unbeknownst to me!

Oh well. never mind! Having gone to the wrong part first again I decided to have a little look around there anyway. I like a browse in an art gallery and there were some fascinating things. There is even a painting of Lincoln by Lowry in there! 

After a good mooch I headed over to the other building where the installation is. Unlike the Moon in the Cathedral, this fills the whole room almost floor to ceiling. It probably would have been better in the cathedral too really but it was still good to see it. 

After taking a few photos I sat down on a bench for a few minutes and just looked at this planet we call home. At first I tried to identify some of the countries but it felt wrong, seeing it in its entirety to divide it again. Over the millennia continental drift has changed the shape of the land mass and different parts have known various names from the times when people began to settle, claim ownership and draw arbitrary boundaries. 

None of that is really real other than humans, who have been here for just a tiny part of the planet's history have decreed it so. Climate change caused by us is damaging the conditions we need for life. I feel it will kill us as a species before it entirely destroys the planet, which will survive and rebloom despite us.

Home now and time to get ready for work.

Those who follow my daughter Jeri on here will have seen that Theodore has contracted Covid.. Malachi has it too now, which is no surprise. So we won't be over there this weekend. I won't mention the change of circumstance to my boss... it's  long time since I had a whole free Sunday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.