pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Bang the drum

It has been a total Blipfest of a day. Spoilt for choice was for which image to put up as today’s main.

What would have the Blipperati marvelling at my photographic ingenuity? A picture of the paninis The Eldest and I shared for lunch? The continued boxing-in done by the builder on a Saturday or even the plastering work done by his mate (also on a Saturday)? 

Perhaps my reaction to England’s brave response in the rugby following the loss of a man on 82 seconds for an admittedly very dangerous tackle?

Instead I have plumped for the one you see before you. I was initially concerned that Kendal town councillors had seen The Handmaid’s Tale and taken it on board as instructional video as a new way of life round here. Turns out that the Extinction Rebellion mob were in town and quite literally banging the drum, loads of them actually, as they extolled the virtues of saving the planet and the human race. I don’t wish to be too nihilistic or anything, but anyone who has seen any form of news these last few years, and particularly the last couple of weeks could be quite easily forgiven for thinking “why bother?”

The question played on my own mind as Simmo and I set off on our walk and catch up. On the return leg we talked about the article I mentioned in yesterday’s blip (wabi-sabi and mindfulness photography) and there was a lovely spot on the river bank. No one else was around and there was a little warmth in the late winter sun, so we stopped for a moment. Soaking up the warmth, the slight breeze on our faces, the gentle bubbling of the river and the scrunching of stones and pebbles underfoot and then I took the shot you can see in extras.

A small moment of calm like this of just being present and in the moment can remind you that there is still so much natural beauty and good stuff in this world to enjoy. We should never take it for granted and instead be grateful for what we have, treasuring and nurturing a planet which despite our continued baffling cruelty to it and in some cases, mercenary desire to possess more of it, continues to give us life.

Pass me a drum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.