pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Wabi-sabi

At last! The end of a busy week where it might be argued that I have actually earned my keep.

I logged out on the buzzer and went down to check on Project House, subsequently trying to contain my disappointment that more plastering hadn’t yet been done, but perhaps that is next week’s task? On a more positive note I have an increased number of ceilings on the lower first floor and the remainder of the walls have now all been coated in some weird green goop to help the plasterer do their thing with the skimming.

The Eldest; who is staying with me for an extra night whilst her mum recovers from a nasty bout of covid, and I sat down with a Chinese takeaway and watched The Adam Project, which was surprisingly good. We had both been a little cynical beforehand in expecting Ryan Reynolds to play Ryan Reynolds again, but he does it so well with such humour and charisma that we were chuckling throughout at lines such as: “Don’t you want to just hold him under water until the bubbles stop?” when referring to his 12-year old self.
However, it was a Mark Ruffalo line which really tickled us, commenting on Reynolds wearing a tight-fitting jacket, he describes him as looking like “a condom with buttons”. Definitely got to steal this and use it somewhere….

Crashing out early, I spent some quality time with Outdoor Photography magazine (a subscription to which being my birthday present from Simmo), which has some truly beautiful and innovative images in it, but the article that really grabbed me was about Mindfulness Photography. The writer of the article; Paul Sanders, refers to it as using “your photography to draw a more unique image from your own experience of a location. It is about accepting and embracing the transient, imperfect and unconventional beauty that every location offers us.” 

He goes on to explain how this directly correlates to “wabi-sabi, a Japanese concept for appreciating and accepting beauty in imperfection.”

Whilst I am delighted to have discovered this concept now, I can’t believe I’ve had to wait until my mid-forties to find something which would have been really useful in at least one of my more recent marriages, but…I accept it.

I’m all about the wabi-sabi now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.