pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Pack up your troubles

One year ago to the day, I began working from home as a result of the pandemic.

I can remember it very clearly as I had to go into the office first thing to meet with my boss to work on a large pitch presentation, which as it happened ended up being postponed, also as a result of the pandemic.

At that point in time, we obviously had no idea how long we would be working from home for, but it was just a precautionary measure and we should work from home until told otherwise etc. 

One year on and the same still applies!

It’s certainly been an interesting time, which has tested the resolve, particularly the mental health aspect, but aside from a few understandable dips here and there, I’ve kept going and come to the realisation that I’m actually a lot stronger mentally than perhaps I’d previously given myself credit for.

Being able to see more of my children and splitting the time equally with their mothers has definitely been a huge part of that development over the past year and as ever, I am indebted to my offspring, despite their constant teasing of my advancing years. 

Exhibit A:
The Youngest (having just been mercilessly tickled): Daddy, you’re a really good tickler!
Me: Oh, thanks darling!
The Youngest (massive grin on face): For a man of your age!

I know it sounds silly, but as I busied about with packed lunches and what-not in preparation for the school run, the sight of their bags in the hallway this morning ready for the off, gave me such a familial surge of love and pride with how they’ve dealt with everything that has been thrown at them. This extends to The Eldest too who, according to the online parents evening I attended (much better way of doing it), is absolutely smashing it – particularly in English!! 

I’m chuffed to bits for all of them, that finally, one year on, it looks like things are slowly but surely going back to how they were in the best way possible.

One year working from home? Completed it, mate.

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.