GOOD TO BE BACK!

We had decided a few weeks ago, after watching Church online for several months, that we had to make a decision as to when we would actually go back and today was the day we chose!

I went to this particular Church from the time I was very young until I was about 21 years of age so I knew many of the people there, but it was still a hard decision to make, because we hadn’t actually been to Church for over two years.  In fact, even half an hour before we left, I was beginning to wonder if we were doing the right thing.

However, when we arrived, we received a really warm welcome so that was the first hurdle over.  Someone I knew came up to speak to Mr. HCB and it transpired they were at Infant and Junior School together so it was good for them to chat about old times!  

I hadn’t realised just how much I had missed singing with people, so although we had sung whilst watching at home, there is something very uplifting to be singing with other Christians and we both enjoyed it very much.

The sung worship was great, as were the prayers and the Pastor preached a good sermon so it was well worth making the effort, although we both still wore masks whilst singing, which wasn’t that easy, but time will tell whether we feel comfortable enough to remove them in the coming weeks.

I decided that my Blip for today would be one of the Church banners, all of which have been beautifully stitched, but this one, with the verse from Joshua 1 v 9, spoke to me.  I know it is the Church Motto for 2022 and in fact, I remember when I was a member of the Girl Covenanter Group at this Church, almost 60 years ago, I took part in a Scripture Recitation Competition in London, and the passage from Joshua 1 verses 1-9 was the one I learned.  I even managed to find a photograph taken with me holding the shield, which I have put in as an extra - that’s rolling back the years a bit!

Sadly, just as the service began, I received a message from our older son to say he was feeling quite rough and had tested positive for Covid, so hope he soon feels much better;  obviously we all still need to be careful because it hasn’t gone away.

Of course, we are continuing to pray, both at home and at Church for the situation in Ukraine, as are millions of other people and hope there will soon be an end to this war.

"Let my heart be broken 
     by the things that break 
          the heart of God."
Bob Pierce

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.