Capital adventures

By marchmont

Mansfield Traquair

Emptied the front room ready for J tomorrow.  Then entertained Y and K.  Not only coffee but Pousse Rapier too.  It was 2 before we split up.

Today's outing was the Mansfield Traquair open day, the venue of the wedding in September.  M, my friend from choir, was on duty as a volunteer guide so I had a 1-1 conducted tour.  She is a former chair of the Trust and was also Headteacher of the adjoining Drummond High School.  Another remarkable woman, as was Phoebe Anna Traquair who painted the amazing murals in what is known as 'Edinburgh's Sistine Chapel'. All of this was nearly lost but has been saved, preserved and conserved.  Of course being Edinburgh I met someone who knew someone - an ex Queen Street girl, friend of Lady Findhorn.

It was a better afternoon as I walked back up Broughton Street.  I've bought some prints in Curiouser and Curiouser that will suit the newly decorated bedroom.  Now I will have to buy frames.  Took a bit of manoeuvring to find a way across the tramworks at Picardy Place but I did manage to make it to JL to buy wrapping paper.

Later I wrapped #1 son's present and then faffed around on the laptop with the BAFTAs on in the background.  

That's another weekend over. 

When I went to bed very early this morning I could see that a house over the way, lit up red at Christmas, is now lit up blue and yellow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.