The second half of life..

By twigs

Robin

Woke to sunshine and calmness and the wind didn't really seem to affect my sleep at all last night so all good.  Spent some time mooching around stands of beech forest and was (again) struck by how fearless the robins are.  I'd barely walked into this particular stand when one appeared and started hopping around my feet.  I believe they're more interested in the bugs that are disturbed as I walk than in me, but it still brings a special feeling of connecting with nature at a more personal level.  This one was happy to continue grub-hunting even as I lay down on the forest floor (which was, fortunately, dry) which allowed me to get some real 'birds-eye views' of him.  I think he's a juvenile/adolescent - a couple of things give it away: firstly, evidence of an immature gape and most notably, a ridiculous haircut!  He's still pretty cute though.

I also managed some drone shots of the southern Mavora Lake (extra).  These lakes were recommended to me several years ago but it's the first time I've actually visited.  I guess my mind had produced an image of the lakes that's turned out to be (unsurprisingly) a lot more rugged and a lot less green.  It's the kind of place I can definitely see myself returning to though.  So, a slow, lazy drive away from the lakes - staying at a wee camping spot near Kingston on the shores of Lake Wakatipu tonight.  

IN COVID news, 18,699 new cases were reported today; 853 people are in hospital and 17 in ICU.  Very sadly, 7 deaths have been reported bringing our covid death toll to over 100.......not a position I ever thought we'd get to given the decisive actions taken early on in the pandemic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.