Lush

Good night’s sleep then A took Paisley out briefly before we had another huge breakfast (Inveraray smoked salmon and scrambled egg for me, full Scottish for A!), then she had her last bath whilst I took Paisley out for a good walk before we left. We avoided the scrambling in the woods of yesterday and instead managed to find paths and go across the parkland. Everything so lush here, no doubt because it rains so much (although it had stopped by the time I went out), and I’ve never seen so much moss.
She was exhausted by the time we got back….mentally as well as physically as there are clearly so many new smells for her here, so once we’d packed the car she slept soundly all the way home! Lovely to see all the countryside we’d come through in the dark on Friday…A particularly delighted by the mountains and the snow visible at the top of several. Maybe our next trip should be up north before all the snow goes.
We stopped at the supermarket on the way home and stocked up, then struggled upstairs with everything. After a quick cuppa I was reenergised and did some cleaning and caught up on all the ironing, then made a roast dinner for supper and A set about cleaning her room and sorting the cat etc after she’d had a nap.
I made Nigel Slater’s apricot pudding for dessert….too sweet for me. Wish I’d stuck to Jocelyn Dimbleby’s upside down apricot tart which had been in my head til I saw Nigel’s recipe in the paper this morning!
Watched a bit of TV (Stanley Tucci in Bologna) and talked about how much we want to go back to Italy, then to bed. Feels like we’ve been away a week, not just two nights!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.