Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

The Shard

I caught the 8.28 train to London this morning. I bumped into a friend at the station so we chatted all the way in to London, and caught up on each other's lives, which was lovely. I got to Guy's Hospital in good time, and as it is opposite The Shard I could not resist taking a photo of it sparkling in the sunshine before I went in.

The dermatologist who runs the Dermatology Institute there went through some questions to try and isolate what could be causing the allergy. As the eczema is only on my face and neck and is a specific type it is most likely caused by some kind of allergy, but to identify what that is, is not easy. They do a very thorough allergy patch testing at this clinic - which is why I was referred here and not to a local one near home. 

They put all the patches on and the nurse explained I cannot exercise or get any moisture on my back for the entire week or else it affects the results. Showering will be interesting,  as will sleeping, as the patches should not move or slip out of position. I find it feels very restricted and I am keeping my back rigid as any stretching or over reaching strains the tape. I have cancelled my plans tomorrow and will probably just walk around the house in a dressing gown all day, as it is tricky to get dressed! The patches come off on Wednesday, I was meant to go back to the hospital for this to happen but Gavin is allowed to do it if he photographs my back as instructed. On Friday I do go back to the hospital for the analysis, and I am hoping that they do find a cause or else it has all been a waste of time. I have added a photo the nurse took to show you why I say it is uncomfortable and restrictive.

When I got home I had to choose images for the next couple of camera club photo competitions and upload them. As we run hybrid meetings we have to get the photos printed, and also upload them so that those on the zoom meeting can see the images.

I must now go make supper as I have a zoom camera club meeting tonight, not a competition but a talk on iPhone photography.

Btw, after our expensive meal on Friday with our friends, the main reason it was expensive is that we ordered some fish that was on special. The waiter failed to tell us how much it cost but as it is a local fish we did not expect it to be as much as it was. My friend phoned the restaurant to complain and discuss it, and they gave us a generous refund of some of the bill!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.