In Case You Were Thinking It's Spring...

...Think Again! 

It was such a fine day today, that one would think it was almost spring...and one could be fooled...until one goes to the shore and sees all that ice...

Maybe it was not a spring day, but it was still a very fine day. ..milder, no wind, occasional sunshine..a day for going down to the lake..so I did..

I spent most of the morning down there meandering around two of the different sections of the conservation areas ...and took way too many photos - it is so much easier when you can leave your gloves off! 

Being school break, there were a lot of people doing the same. The resident birds and animals were also out enjoying the mild day...geese everywhere, and ducks, cardinals, blue jays, chickadees, and woodpeckers.. I even saw a red-winged blackbird eating out of a fellow's hand! That was a first! 

Chickadees yes, woodpeckers yes.. but I have never seen a red winged blackbird do that!  I guess my interest was obvious, as this fellow asked if I would like to try - gave me some of his seeds and offered to take a photo for me...But alas, the bird was not tempted. We switched places and sure enough, as soon as he held out some seeds that bird came right to him! I took their photo..and forgot to ask his permission to post it..Drat... Chances are he would not have minded, but just in case...

It was a Day of the Deer too. They were wandering and munching  everywhere..in the grasses, in the woods, along the beach and out on the ice of the marsh! I Am sure one of them is the same young one I have posted before..I recognized that face - those eyes...such a cutie...

So, it was a good day..It would be nice if the mild weather sticks around for a while..but I am sure we are not through with winter yet! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.