Uphill

As is often the case when I am away, an outline plan for the day came together during my second cup of coffee after getting up. (The first cup is medicinal only.) 

I decided to do a bit more than yesterday, but not much. 

I ventured out again to buy breakfast and found a bakery which is closer than the one I used yesterday. That means I have a choice of four bakeries (if I include the one at the Pingo Doce supermarket) within 150m. Why can Scotland not be like this? 

As an aside, I was brave and went to the supermarket last night. It was quite busy, but everyone - yes, everyone - was wearing a mask. I now have shampoo and vinho verde, so things are moving along nicely. 

Lunch today did not go so well. I tried a local speciality at the taberna across the street and ended up with assorted bits of pig (knuckle etc) which included about 10% meat content. Well, it was cheap (€4.90) and the veggies were good. 

My afternoon outing was a gentle walk down to the river, and the Museu do Carro Eléctrico (tram museum). Porto still has vintage trams running, just like Lisbon. One of the lines runs past the museum, and when I came out, I saw one was due in 5 minutes. Ideal for getting me back up the steep hill. 

Sadly, this option meant I was not thirsty enough to justify a mid afternoon beer sitting outside, but coffee and cake made a good substitute. Blipped. Well, the coffee is. The cake took priority over the Blip. 

I've added my Number 18 tram as an Extra, and also a shot of the museum exhibits (hardly distinguishable from the working ones). I thought Blippers in Leith and Edinburgh would appreciate a couple of tram shots.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.