Spoiled

My third day in Porto has been much like the previous two - a mix of random(ish) wanderings and laziness dressed up as relaxation. 

Key highlights included being able to buy my breakfast by speaking Portuguese as opposed to English. To my amazement, the woman understood and I got what I had asked for. Perhaps she was wetting herself with laughter, but behind a mask who knows. Or cares. 

Lunch was a success too. It was delicious. It took me a while to figure out what I was eating (pataniscas de bacalhau), and it was not quite what I had expected, but… is that important? 

Pataniscas

It was a lovely place and absurdly cheap - €8 for soup, main course, a bottle of water and a coffee. 

Pimenta Rosa

My afternoon wander was to the Jardins do Palácio Cristal, which is a botanical garden and a very pleasant place to spend a couple of hours. It provides fantastic views of the city and river. I suspect it is even more pleasant once spring arrives properly, and in summer. Most gardens are.  

Dinner was a crab bao burger and a Taiwanese salad in a place I tried in October. Going back was a very smart move. Totally hit the spot. 

I will have to do more steps from now on or things will get out of hand. 

The Blip was taken in the gardens, as were two of the Extras. The other Extra is just proof that I do have an occasional beer just for the hell of it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.