A bit of sewing

But as you can see from the photos it was quite dark, but today I was determined to do some sewing after work, so finished just after 4 and went straight into the conservatory with a cup of tea.

This bag I started making ages ago from some bits of two different fat quarters. I love making bags. They are like poetry for me, or any writing or anything creative i do, as they just evolve. What I love about these simple bags though (and I do only make simple bags that are all very similar in style) what I love is how I don't know how they are going to end up until they are finished. Another thing I lack is patience; I don't like spending time planning, I just want to get on and make/write/mould etc!! So that's how it is. If you have never made a simple bag, then I urge you to have a go. You simply make an outer and an inner, both two rectangles sewn on 3 sides, then you put one inside the other and sew together (adding a handle if you want it sewn in). The best bit is the end, when the bag kind of gives birth to itself by pulling the outter through a small hole in what will be the lining, then tuck the lining back inside. It is easier than it sounds, I promise.

I also have another smaller bag which wasn't finished, so I'm getting that completed tonight too. I'm now sitting down to sew a big popper on the the bag to close it, and a couple on the handle so make it a bit smaller so that there is an option for a short or long handle. I haven't quite mastered handles yet, but I still like this.

It's been raining a lot. Nothing else to say about my day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.