North Shore Views

In grey and brown, our
colour palette speaks of late
winter. I need spring.

~ carliewired

I slept until 8 after a night of disjointed sleep. I left the house at 8:30 with little enthusiasm on this cloudy day. It was 5 C.

I parked at Overlander Park on the north shore. It's not a favourite area for me but I knew I could get on the Rivers Trail and down onto the riverbed. 

My surprise was to find a beautiful, handknit mitten propped up on a handrail. Hopefully, the owner will be reunited with it soon. 

I walked off the Rivers Trail, through the line of cottonwoods and  onto the beach. I took note of one particularly gnarled tree by the stairs. One can appreciate how these cottonwoods can hold the bank during high water. 

From the riverbed I could look northeast to my mountains. I rarely see them from this angle. The spot I was standing on would normally be several feet underwater, especially in high water.

I looked across to Riverside Park where there was lots of activity today. The pier is still off limits to me and will be for several months yet, I'm sure. I looked to the southwest to catch a shot of the Overlander Bridge.
I looked south to the old west end of the city and once our Chinatown. The view past the railway bridge and the Red Bridge showed the snowy mountains east of the city. There was a chilly wind coming in from that direction and I understand why. 

I have such low energy on days like this. I picked up a very large coffee and some breakfast on the way home. Perhaps a big jolt of caffeine might kickstart my morning. 

The forecast warns of some rain showers or snow flurries today with a high of 10 C. I'll be home inside so it won't matter at all. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.