The pencil.

A mixture of a day.  I woke just after six and photographed the sunrise out the bedroom window then went back to sleep and didn't get up till after nine.  The result of reading late into the night.  I wasn't doing anything except going to the dentist in the afternoon but I don't know where what was left of the morning went.  Had breakfast  but no lunch as I spilled half a glass of water which went everywhere.  Only half a glass but books, papers, all sorts were wet and it took ages to clear up.  By the time I'd finished it was time to change and set off for Glenrothes.  I was a bit apprehensive as I'd had to go  private and had no idea what the cost was going to be.  The dentists at my NHS practice had moved away and they've been trying for over a year to find replacements with no luck.  Sat filling in a form in beautiful surroundings and thinking that I was going to be contributing to their upkeep.  The dentist, when I met him turned out to very pleasant  and we were in complete agreement about what needed to be done. I'm an old woman and if my teeth are not hurting me that's good enough so keep it simple and basic.  He started out tactful but soon realised that I preferred straight talk so we got on well and I'm having a couple of fillings to repair two teeth which may or may not be successful. Probably best not to try and chew brazil nuts with them I think.  Not cheap but reasonable provided it works.  My appointment is not until the end of June and, who knows, they might have found an NHS dentist by then.  Maybe pigs will fly.  Went off home and stopped at parking for the Pencil so I could have a walk.  Took much longer than intended as I was able to walk in Riverside Park below the bridge and see it from different angles.  It's know to many locals as the Pencil and is quite a landmark.  Chatted to a couple out with their son and their dogs. They were commenting on a medallion hanging from a tree.  I had to look up Psalms 46 when I came home.
Verse 9. He maketh wars to cease unto the end of the earth; he breaketh the bow, and cutteth the spear in sunder; he burneth the chariot in the fire,
I prefer verses 1 and 2.  God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea.  A bit odd finding comfort in the Bible when I'm an agnostic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.