Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Contrite

Actually, he doesn't have anything to feel contrite about, but still...

We ended up in the ER about 3 hours last night, finally getting home around 9 where we had peanut butter sandwiches for dinner (with a shot of bourbon for me).  Although the injury ended up being pretty small, it was a scary experience and we both felt wiped when we got home.  Hubs will be seeing our family doctor tomorrow morning for a quick follow up but healing should be pretty straightforward.  Just have to watch for infection.  Thank goodness it wasn't worse!  It turned out that it was the small carabiner clip that attaches the tags to the harness that was embedded in his finger.  Miraculously, no nerve damage.  Equally miraculously, Hubs, in the heat of the moment, had the presence of mind to quickly unhook the harness from the dog - otherwise I fear he might have had a much, much worse injury.

Jax has been his usual joyful self today.  We had a nice walk then sat out on the deck for awhile enjoying temperatures in the low 70's.  The birds are all in full song, chipmunks are racing around at the edge of the woods and squirrels are doing important squirrel things.  I took this shot from the far end of the deck while Jax was happily laying in a patch of sun.  I love his eyes.

I found out that a dear and long-time friend's mother is in a coma and not expected to make it.  Heartbreaking.  I have no idea what happened but do know that she had refused to be vaccinated against covid.  

I went and got my second shingrex vaccine this afternoon.  The weather is going to be bleak tomorrow so if I have the expected side effects, at least I won't be missing a beautiful day.  And Hubs has assured me that he is up to laying around with me if needs must!

I am enjoying a small square of dark Ugandan chocolate with salted caramel.  You know the nice thing about really good chocolate is that you don't need much.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.