Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Nice Tail

It was a soggy day and my general state of mind pretty much matched the weather.  That said, I did drag myself out to the hide and spent some time clearing my head with some photo/ornitherapy.  I wanted to add a male dark-eyed junco to my 2021 yard birds record and I was very happy to get a shot showing the distinctive white outer tail feathers.  Usually these feathers aren't seen unless they are in flight, or unless they are acting aggressive.  For purposes of comparison, the other two versions of this species on my yard birds list this year are 
the softly hued female  and
the leucistic/white junco that graced our yard for 2 months this winter

I had 5 things on my to-do list for today.  I got 4 done but missed the gym.  Frankly, everything has been an effort today.  In the world of depression, this is one of "those" days - where everything feels harder than it actually is and all you really want to do is crawl back in bed and sleep.  I am fine - this is just one of those days.  

My fourth item on the list isn't actually complete - but I am determined. I am mid way through transferring all data from my ancient iPhone to my new (reconditioned) replacement phone that arrived predictably late yesterday. And after this task is finally done, I plan to make some seared ahi tuna for dinner, accompanied by a little wine and followed by a couple of episodes of The Queen's Gambit (which we are both really enjoying).

The weather should be better tomorrow so hoping for an afternoon walk with my local birder friends.

Stay safe, be kind.  And I am planning to try some dark chocolate with raspberry...

xo
Debbi

PS:  And in case you aren't totally tired of cardinals, you may enjoy this soggy red male on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.