Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Deceiving...

As in, Looks can be...  Jax is such a serious looking dog, but he is really a huge goofball.  He loves belly rubs and laps and games of ball and tug in the yard. He much prefers the sofa to laying on (gasp) the floor.  And if there is a human on the sofa, so much the better as he loves cuddling.  The only time I have ever heard him growl is when he saw a bear in the yard.  He is far more likely to drown someone in sloppy dog kisses than actually bite anyone.  And yes, he's spoiled, for which I make no apologies.

We spent some time out in the yard today.  I'm trying to get Jax comfortable with just hanging out in the backyard when I'm outside pottering.  Progress today since he found a stick and happily laid on the grass shredding it.  

We watched three blue jays farting around in one of our big hickory trees.  It was interesting to watch them and I am still not totally sure I know what the dynamic between them is, although I suspect a pair with one second year juvenile.  I observed one feeding the other which suggests pair bonding.  Anyway, they've been quite entertaining as they chase each other around the trees and dart in and out to grab seeds, all the while making their creaky-gate noise.  

I noticed today that several of my daffodils are ready to burst into bloom which seems quite early.  And I am starting to see just the faintest brush of green on the Russian Olive bushes at the edge of the woods.  Spring is coming - hallelujah!

Dark with blueberries today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.