Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Fancy Dancer

Daffodils, when viewed from a certain angle, always make me think of a skirt twirling around.  Which is what I have endeavored to capture here.  I could have spent a lot more time on this, but it's quite chilly outside and I wasn't feeling like crouching in the cold to get "the" shot.  

I finished Nelson Mandela's autobiography "Long Walk to Freedom" last night and ... wow!  A superb book.  I found some of parts of the book very emotional, which was probably the intent.  When he talks about wondering if he made the right choice to basically turn his back on the traditional roles of father, son, husband to fight for the future of his people (really, of all people), it was impossible not to feel his anguish.  And when he describes what it felt like to cast his first vote in a democratic South Africa...  Honestly, there were so many profound (for me) moments in this book.  Many, many thanks to the people here who recommended that I read this.  

Hubs and I watched "All the President's Men" last night - I loved it but Hubs was lukewarm to cool on it.  Being younger than me, he doesn't have much memory of Richard Nixon's resignation and the whole Watergate scandal while I do remember it even though I was not yet 20 when it happened.  I have a very vivid memory of being at work when my boss turned on the radio to listen to Nixon's resignation speech.  I felt like something really momentous was happening (and I was right).  

A dark chocolate covered graham cracker wafer today - yum.  And it's T-5...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.