Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Sphingidae or Absolem

Or a Hawk Moth to you and me.  I think it is the Bee Hawk Moth caterpillar.  He was almost exactly three inches tall which is a very good height.   I couldn't see any hookah.

I can't say I have seen Hawk Moths flying around my garden (they are said to be like a large bumble bee) but they must be if the caterpillar is here.  It's a first for me in my garden and only the second time I have seen one of them.

I took Milly to the vets this morning to have her bandage removed.   It was a mammoth job and her leg was totally encased in sticky bandage which before removal was like a peg leg as she couldn't bend it and she swung it when walking.  She is now wearing the collar of shame.  I will be glad when I can take that off her (when I can be sure she won't lick at her stitches) as all day I have had that cone bumping into my legs as she follows me around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.