Fading ….

A quiet day recuperating - but for a birthday afternoon tea at a neighbour’s. This time last year I made Terry’s 60th birthday cake for a celebration limited by Covid restrictions. This year, he was able to have friends round and he and his husband provided a superb spread as you can see in extras! 

Of course, there is the rugby, where Wales somehow managed to allow Italy to win in Cardiff ….. We missed the Ireland v Scotland game, but enjoyed the contest between France and England - the home team deserving their win. 

Inevitably, it’s also a quiet day in terms of photography, and it’s the ‘dead flower’ variety today. I’ve already established that this should extend way beyond dead tulips  - though they probably are the best decaying subjects - and today it’s my fast-withering hyacinth that takes centre stage.  These are the same flowers blipped on March 9th but now that soft, thick waxiness has shrivelled, colour concentrated in veins of flesh, edges thin and ragged. Aged, but still beautiful. 

Thanks again for all the kindness shown this week - both towards my Yorkshire blips and towards my medical ‘issues’. I’ve almost caught up with journals now, though I still need to respond to comments - and try to get back to posting before midnight! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.