Roman Bridge

Two weeks after our failed attempt to find the ‘Roman’ bridge at Penmachno, we return. I’ve little energy today, but G, supportive as ever, knows I’ll feel better if we can get out into the countryside - and today the weather’s so beautiful we can even manage an open top drive!

And sure enough, today we locate the elusive bridge. Medieval rather than Roman - though it may have older archaeological origins - it’s a beautiful old packhorse bridge over the upper reaches of the river Conwy. Ivy drapes from its arches which span a rocky moss-encrusted gorge, and caught between two waterfalls, the river runs still, crystal clear and almost emerald in places. 

But there’s a problem: a camera group from Merseyside has got there first, and there they are, perched on the rocks and banks, their tripods fixed to get the ‘perfect shot’. I must admit I find it quite intimidating to clamber down to try to find a viewpoint - unnecessarily apologetic as if acknowledging they own the place and I’m an unwelcome intruder. Some are more welcoming than others - and of course I do my best to avoid getting in the way. 

I’ve often mentioned how being amongst the natural world with my camera just works a magic spell for me, helping both my physical and mental well-being. But for me this needs to be a solitary experience, or at most one shared just with another person.  This scene is undeniably beautiful, but every shot I take is inevitably a compromise. It certainly makes me realise that group workshops or photography holidays may well not be for me! 

I wait a while, hoping they may have finished, but they make no signs of leaving and I’m certainly not up to staying there for long, so I take the best shots I can and leave. I’ll return some other time - preferably not on a Sunday! 

So my main’s my favourite shot of the bridge itself (best viewed large), with extras of the river scene, including one which gives a more panoramic view across the river to the bridge. I thought I’d avoided the others who’ve stopped for a group shot, but you can spot one of the photographers by the bridge! 

Thanks for all your reassurances - I just feel there is a reciprocal element in commenting but know it’s not expected, so I’ll gracefully  accept I can only work within my limitations! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.