How Long?

After church, our usual stop at the Adega for tintinhos, bread, olives, and cheese, both fresh and cured. (Neither the cigarettes nor the beer is ours.) A lot of folk today, celebrating the twins' (who run the place) birthday. We all had to squish under the awning when it started raining - yay!

Instead of the Lent verses today, I'm putting Psalm 13, that our church in England meditated on in our 8:30 Livestream:
How long, O Lord? Will you forget me forever?
    How long will you hide your face from me?
How long must I take counsel in my soul
    and have sorrow in my heart all the day?
How long shall my enemy be exalted over me?

Consider and answer me, O Lord my God;
    light up my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death,
lest my enemy say, “I have prevailed over him,”
    lest my foes rejoice because I am shaken.

But I have trusted in your steadfast love;
    my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.
As well as the situation in Ukraine, our whole church is grieving over the death of one of our finest young folk, Stevie. Scripture gives us the words - how long, Lord, how long? and also, the attitude - I don't understand, it seems like you have forgotten us, but I will trust...

Gratefuls:
- superb croissants from Copenhagen Lab for breakfast, with our second to last grapefuit
- 7mm of rain so far, at least it's washed the dust off the leaves
- the confidence that good will come

Off to Sem Fim now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.