Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Looking north towards Hadrian's Wall

On the off chance, I sent a message to Kay and Eric this morning. Yes, they would like to walk.

We set off from Bardon Mill. There was an initial hiccup because I had the map on my GPS, but had failed to pick up the paper copy to bring with me. I calmed down and we set off.

We did a version of a festival walk I'm going to lead, but it will need altering. The first 3.5 miles of the route was on tarmac and uphill. There was traffic. It was no fun. The second half of the walk was beautiful and the walkers will enjoy that. 

Now I'm back to the maps to see what I can do as an alternative.

We walked all the way to Haltwhistle. When we arrived we had apparently just missed the bus back and the next one was two hours later. Arghh! Thankfully, the previous bus was late and turned up after a few minutes. Hooray!

We watched James Galway at the BBC tonight. It was an hour of pleasure and brought back many happy memories.

Arth would like you to know that he did all the uphills and downhills without any pain, just minimal stiffness. Congratulations Arth!

Mum and Dad were married on this day in 1948. He died in 1987, so they did not make their Ruby Wedding. Lots of memories for Mum of a day with glorious weather and a late evening journey to Edinburgh for their honeymoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.