Bee view.

Still full of aches and pains so decided today was a do nothing day.  It's amazing how not doing things makes you want to do them.  I managed quite happily in the morning with crosswords and Wordle etc. and amended tomorrows grocery order.  After lunch I phoned the electrician and left a message about the shower.  It's quite good that it's not working just now as I had a long hot bath which had a soothing effect on my back and knee.  Thought I would go to Strath for a short walk later and see if the blackthorn was in bloom but went up the garden to see what I could find there.  The crocuses still look good but are coming to an end. I found what I thought was a bee on the grape hyacinth then thought it might be a bee fly.  On closer inspection thought it might be a hoverfly, a large one, not the sort I usually have in the garden.  Checked it out online and I think it is a hoverfly. Eristalis tenax or common drone fly.  But please let me know If I've got it wrong.   When I came inside I found what was definitely a bee lying on the floor unable to move.  It must have flown in an open door or window some time ago and got trapped.  Scooped it up and put it in a crocus that looked as if it had plenty of pollen  then found my honey jar and added a drop or two of that as well.  When I went back later the bee had gone so hopefully it is now OK.  Had my very short walk at Strath.  Found the blackthorn covered in tight white buds  so I was grateful for the crocus and the hoverfly.  Was a bit wicked and did about ten minutes weeding in the front garden  and watered the house number primulas and the new witch hazel.  Now it's time for dinner and back to a book on the sofa.  Hopefully I will be a little more active tomorrow but not too much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.