Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The elusive Star of Bethlehem (yellow)

This rare wildflower grows near the river North Tyne in Acomb Woods. Every year Margret (next door) and I try to find the plants in flower. They appear just at the same time as the lesser celandine, so you have to look carefully to find them.

Margret saw them on Sunday, so I was keen to visit the woods as soon as I could.

I have put a more standard view of the flowers in my extra, but I though you might like to see the green on the back of the petals.

My trip to the woods was brief, partly because I was going to Julie's for lunch and partly because I was sweltering. The temperature went up to 16 degrees which is far too hot for March!

As always, Julie provided a delicious lunch. We tried to sit outside, but a cold wind sent us back indoors. Lots of chat over the food and then I made my way through the Newcastle traffic. I'm always glad when my car reaches the relative quiet of the Military Road.

Tonight I watched the film After Love with Joanna Scanlan in the lead role. What wonderful understated and moving acting. I loved the film. Daisy came on my knee and stayed for over an hour. This is unheard of. Even after 4 years, she rarely comes on my knee for a cuddle. It was a delight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.