Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Luskentyre - Isle of Harris, Scotland

Last night the camera club meeting was well attended although many people are still staying away, the comfort of attending via zoom instead of going out to meet in person is a hard habit to break. The chairman convinced me to become the club secretary from the autumn, I don’t really mind even if it means a few more committee meetings per year, someone has to do it. My images did okay, they were both images from my Iceland trip and while I got wonderful compliments on them from the members, I don't think judges are in favour of landscape images these days.

It was a horribly early start this morning, I set the alarm for 4am but woke up at 3am. The taxi arrived on time and we got to the airport very quickly with no traffic at that time of the morning.

It was a long day of travelling, all uneventful, with two short flights, one to Edinburgh and then on to Stornoway, but a bit of hanging around in between. We eventually got to our hotel in Tarbert at about 1pm, and I was able to unpack and settle in before going out later to take photos. 

We spent the afternoon going between the beaches at Seilebost and Luskentyre taking photos. The weather was warm, sunny and with blue skies. Perfect holiday weather but not ideal for photography, we were laughing saying how we were hoping for some clouds and drama in the sky! Never happy are we! Then along came this puffy cloud and I had to make this my blip for today! We stayed for the sunset at Luskentyre before going back to the hotel - see extras. It has been a long day and I am feeling shattered after my early start. Tomorrow is another 4am rise to get to the Callanish Stones before sunrise, as they are about an hour away. As much as we all need to sleep in, the forecast is for good weather again tomorrow so we need to make use of that sunshine while we have it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.