Bedroom in Arles - Van Gogh

This may look like a photograph of a painting but it is actually a physical reconstruction of Van Gogh's bedroom in Arles. It is part of the touring Van Gogh Alive exhibition now in Edinburgh. We visited the exhibition this afternoon.

My extra captures another 'cultural' moment. We thought that it would be fun to take Mummy hazelh to a show. My friend Sam is currently performing at the Kings Theatre in the Pirates of Penzance as a member the Edinburgh Gilbert and Sullivan Society so this seemed a perfect opportunity for a night at the theatre. I snapped the shot at the curtain call. Sam is in the second row in a pink nightdress, just behind the King Pirate in brown.

Of these two outings, I enjoyed the theatre more. The Van Gogh exhibition seemed rather expensive for an hour of entertainment, and I didn't really learn much from it. In fact, I think that I enjoyed the music more than the displays of the artwork. In contrast there was a really fun atmosphere at the theatre, and since I didn't know the plot of the (very silly) story, there were several surprises along the way. The music here was also wonderful. I loved the overture at the start of the play, and would never have believed that orchestra was amateur had I not known in advance.

There was another trip out today: first thing I took Mummy hazelh back to Stockbridge Health Centre to have the dressing on her leg changed again.

In between all these sorties I managed to squeeze in some work, including the writing of the first draft of the script for the announcer in our LornaL podcast series, and a trip to the supermarkets to buy a present, and to stock up for some fun on Saturday.

It's been a very expensive day for taxis: 6 in total!

Exercise today: 40 minutes on the exercise bike; small amount of walking.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.