An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Year of Wonder...

Poor David was up for half the night coughing, and even when asleep, was still coughing.  He felt very rough when he woke up and it became clear that we wouldn't be able to attend the funeral of our friend Keith's mum this afternoon.  Even though his LFT was negative, we didn't want to be spreading any bugs to the elderly attendees at the funeral, and he didn't want to be having a coughing fit in the middle of the service, so we reluctantly called off.  

He was still coughing at lunchtime but felt well enough to sit in sunshine in the Gin Palace with a coffee, before unpacking the pictures and bits and bobs and making the GP homely again.

Lola also enjoyed playing in the garden (see extra) Having a roll on the spring grass is such a treat although she got in trouble for digging a hole..  We have to remind her of the garden rules every year! 

So lovely to be outside in warm sunshine.  I feel this has been the shortest winter ever.  Can't believe the clocks go forward this weekend.  The good weather is set to continue for the next few days so more opportunity to be outside enjoying the fresh air.

I mentioned the other day how I've started listening to classical music when I am painting and how much I am enjoying it.  Blip Pal SnaphappySally kindly recommended a book called Year of Wonder  by Clemency Burton Hill, where the author chooses a piece of classical music for each day of the year and and tells you about it, and the composer.  It appealed to me immensely so I ordered it (as an early Mother's Day gift to myself ;-) and it arrived today.

Off to the studio with it to read today's entry and listen to the recommend piece, which was Heal You by Anna Meredith.  Completely new to me and thoroughly enjoyed. 

I am already looking forward to tomorrow's musical discovery. It's like a daily musical gift :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.