Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Nine days to go

(24/3/22)
We have made so much progress on visiting country pavilions at EXPO that G is now determined to do them all. As she had just one hour in school today, she suggested we go to EXPO as soon as she finishes. With our usual Wednesday commitments, we can have 2-3 hours. Despite the heat of the day, we went. It was, er, HOT, but we both survived!

My blip is the best of what we saw today, managing to scratch Morocco (where the fast-track queue was 30 minutes long), Luxembourg and the Solomon Islands off the list. We would have done the Democratic Republic of Congo if we'd found it. As it so happens, we were within 50 metres of it! And we found the local Rotary Club. J&M are very interested and have been looking for them but have been unsuccessful so far..

We had an hour at home before heading out again. Poor G, she went lobster coloured for a while. I am so pleased to have Lavylites to bring things back to normal fast, speaking of which, I managed to collect a bottle of our favourite spray - Auricum! :))

Jeff & Margaret invited us to dinner at a restaurant on the Creek. It was SO GOOD to see the Creek after weeks! The restaurant was further from the car park than I remember. It must be the walking I did at EXPO. Dinner was great. We ate outdoors. Just as we were leaving, the manager of the restaurant plonked a bag in front of me and wished me "Happy Birthday"!! I peered inside, and it was the brownie that Jeff was trying to organise for me. The bag also contained ice cream, so we drove home to put things in the fridge before getting to church for the meeting. We were a small but enthusiastic group. Band practice was cancelled, so we all went to Icons in Wafi for a coffee!!

We didn't get home until nearly 11! I had to go straight to my laptop and do a couple of hours of coding invoices.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.