Another farewell

A drive to Hoddesdon and back today, to say farewell to the dad of another of my lovely friends. The fourth funeral that I've been to at Woollensbrook in the last 14 months. I really wanted to go, to pay my respects, and support lovely friends, but only if I felt up to the drive. Which I did.

It was a lovely drive down, and I stopped at my in laws in Melbourn on the way for a coffee and half hour chat. I arrived at the crematorium and hugged the family. The sun was shining, it was warm, and perfect for the ceremony. Not a religious one, but a respectful and heart warming celebration of the life of a much loved dad, brother and friend to many. At 89, he had enjoyed a full and happy and successful life. His daughters both gave heartfelt tributes to their dad, and although I only met him a few time over the years, I felt I knew him.

I joined them at Ware Priory afterwards, and had a nice catch up with everyone, before my drive back. I was last at Ware Priory (top picture) when bridesmaid for my friend Denise in 1987. I don't think it's changed much in 35 years.

I was fine driving, but am still experiencing odd dizzy spells. I'm hoping my blood tests show something, or that my upped oestrogen starts to make a difference. Life really feels like an effort these days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.