Signs of Spring

We awoke to heavy rain. If we had the predicted thunderstorm, I slept through it. After breakfast, the skies cleared enough for me to stroll around the property. There are many signs that spring is really here so I tried to capture a few. Neither was amazing enough to stand on its own, so you get a collage. As I was crouched down to get a photo of my heavy laden quince branches, two mocking birds had a loud conversation above me. I was irritated I’d only brought my phone out and couldn’t get a close up of them. The variegated vinca vines now in bloom, cover the flower garden by our heat pumps. We continually cut off the tendrils that want to sneak under the units. Five young dogwood trees came up in the garden around the gazebo. I guess birds dropped seeds. Their buds are just waiting to burst open. You will probably see this tree again. I’ll retake the other four photos another day. We spent the day inside except for my walk and hubby’s trip to get meds and a few groceries. Jamie brought us a bowl of carrots (more than we can eat immediately), so I marinated them with peppers and onions. It’s been many years since I made that recipe and they are delish. Some recipes call them Copper Pennies. After lunch, the recliners called our names. Hubby napped while I read. Guess I should hop up and iron. Hubby has a meeting later and they will have a light meal afterwards so no cooking again. I’ll check on the war and read. A pretty nondescript day. Thanks for the visit, hearts, stars and nice comments lately. Has the new sub-variant gotten to your area yet? I’ve heard reports of its existence but not that it is here. Stay safe. “Ever since I saw a quince
in perfect bloom I have to swoon.
Those blushed globe flowers
in both sun and showers
enchant my heart - and it is their art
as I pass by to make me stop awhile and sigh.” - Susy Evelyne

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.