The Great North Road

I spent the morning with Dad, although he spent much of the time asleep. He had the TV on, so for the first time ever I found myself watching “This Morning” with Phillip Schofield and Holly Willoughby. I can see why their show is popular.

Dad was born and brought up in this town. Last night I quizzed him on the pubs and inns to be found along the High Street. He could remember some of them, but his memory is not what it used to be. The High Street is very wide and there used to be lots of pubs and inns. It lies on the Great North Road, and was the first major staging post where horses were changed on the coaches departed from London (the town is now the first inter/city rail stop out of London on the east coast line). Three of my years at school were spent in a building which used to be the Swan Inn, reputedly popular with young couples eloping to Gretna Green. The pub in the blip used to be the White Lion, but has been renamed - presumably to commemorate the moderately successful film “Here we go around the Mulberry Tree”, filmed in the new town.

I also briefly visited St Nicholas church, the parish church located half a mile away (extra). The town migrated down the hill to take advantage of the London trade, leaving the parish church in semi-rural tranquility (I listened to a skylark singing in the neighbouring fields whilst there). It has a fabulous church yard, one of my favourites, wild flowers everywhere. I have never seen so many wild primroses. I always say hello to JaneF, who lies at the entrance, dates 1810 -59. I wonder what sort of person she was ? The route up here and a bit beyond from the old railway station is described towards the beginning of Howard’s End by EM Forster. Much has changed since the early 20th century, but the route is still recognisable.

And - thanks for the hearts yesterday. I am way behind on looking at blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.