Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

WildflowerWeek22

Cowslip - primula veris

The lovely thing - one of the lovely things - about the butterfly reserve is that of necessity it has to be something of a wildflower reserve too.  I was up there a couple of days ago to check on the cowslips.  They were only just uncurling, but I had a feeling that two hot sunny days might have kicked them on a bit and I was right.  There was certainly not the flood of them there will be later, but plenty to get a singleton blip.  When they're there in their hundreds of millions, I'll go back for a long shot.

One of the things that really interests me about the cowslips up there is that they're the food source for Britain's rarest butterfly, The Duke of Burgundy.  I've never seen his lordship, but I'm going to try really hard this spring.  I know he's up there!

And talking of spring - a reminder that WildflowerWeek22 begins a minute after midnight on Sunday 3rd April and the first one will run until the end of Saturday 9th.  I seem to remember giving the challenge a really long tag last year - and regretting it.  I'll do better this time round.

Also, sometime next week I'll put full details on the Challenges page.

Have a fabulous weekend, all  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.