The Loop

A drive around the
island always has something
for me to enjoy

~ carliewired

I wasn't enthusiastic about going out this morning. There was no sunrise to be seen. It was cloudy and grey at 7 AM with a temperature of 6 C. I took my time draining my big coffee mug. Then I was out the door at 8:15 with plans to drive around McArthur Island. 

Driving into the park I spied a blue heron perched on a light pole. Standing 30 feet in the air does give one a good view. I managed a couple of shots before he swooped down over the slough and was gone. 

I can't miss the mallards. They are such handsome birds. I caught a pair hanging around the foot bridge. I left my quilted heart in that area and drove on to the south side. 

I found marmots popping up in places I hadn't seen them in before. They were peeking out from the river bank and posing on ledges. 

Canada geese continue to dominate the park in great numbers. They fan out over the playing fields and browse the grass and margins. I caught some flying low over the river. 

I stopped to get the truck washed on my way home. It has been a dirty mess for too long. I picked up some breakfast and some flowers before heading home. 

Today is International Waffle Day. My daughter is making waffles for lunch and I'm invited! 

We have a cloudy day with a high of 12 C. We could have showers in the afternoon. The rest of the week will be much the same. Perhaps I washed the truck too soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.