COLTSFOOT

Had a good nights sleep after taking a couple of codeine and this morning my back felt a lot better.  Knees and neck still giving me trouble but that's not surprising for someone past their prime (mind you I'm not sure I ever was in my prime ).

I was expecting a few parcel deliveries and they all arrived - although one of them was taken in by my next door neighbour so I had to pop round and get it.  That meant a nice chat with Deb.  She's had Covid but has finally tested negative so she can get back to work on Monday.

Later on I walked down to the village.  Weather was sunny and warm again.  I went along the back lane through the allotments and spotted a patch of small yellow flowers. You can see one in my blip shot. I didn't know what flower it was so I checked on the PlantNet app on my phone to find its a Coltsfoot.  Thanks to BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday.

Over the years Coltsfoot has been used in herbal medicine and has  also been used in a confectionery called Coltsfoot Rock.  I remember buying Coltfoot Rock when I was little.  It used to be seen on sweet shop counters in big glass jars. Anyone else remember it? 

I mentioned a while back that my dentists was collecting donations to fill a van which would be driven to Poland to help Ukrainians in need.  Well they managed to get enough donations to fill 5 large vans and today was the day when the vans and 10 drivers set off on their journey.  They departed from North Shields on the ferry to Holland. Then they will drive through Holland, Germany and Poland where the items will be collected and taken over the border to Ukraine.  In addition £14,000 has been raised on the JustGiving page and this will be used to buy Individual First Aid Kits as these are in great demand. It was good to get an update today about the appeal and to know that the community have made such an effort to do their bit to help Ukrainians in need.

Steps today - 7,052

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.