Marionb

By Marionb

The Family China...

.... is expanding at an alarming rate! And I am running out of places to store it! 

I am a collector of old china..I love it all..I have cupboards and china cabinets full of dishes in beautiful old patterns..some just because they are beautiful, and others because they mean a lot to me because they belonged to my mom or my grandmother..and I grew up with them...

I enjoyed Christmas, Thanksgiving, and Easter dinners on my mother's Wedgwood Napoleon Ivy and drank tea out of my grandmother's Copeland-Spode Rosebud Chintz tea cups...When I got married, I chose my own china - Royal Doulton English Renaissance and later added Royal Worcester Evesham as it was much less formal and user friendly! I have since passed those on to my daughter...leaving me now with only those first three family sets.

I blipped recently about my mom's china and how my brother came across a mother lode of it in a consignment store and picked it up for my sister to add to her collection..Well, quel surpris! Yesterday, he called to tell me he had found yet another batch of it in the same shop and would pick it up for me! Wow! Let the bells ring out! I have been searching for decades for even an odd piece, but that china was just not to be found! So what a windfall this was!  

Today my brother came out from Toronto to deliver my newly acquired pieces of Napoleon Ivy and then stayed for the afternoon and evening to help me empty my already crammed china cabinet and rearrange the dishes in there to create space for more! I cannot believe he did it! He got it all in and I only had to put some of the teacups and saucers into storage elsewhere! 

I wanted to record the new tidy look of the cabinet, but couldn't photograph it well with the glass doors closed, so I took a photo of each compartment separately with the doors open and used the stitch option on an app to string them together as they appear in the cabinet...so that why it looks a bit weird...(extra). 

So now the three family sets of china are in one place and looking good..a wall of memories to contemplate every time I sit at the dining room table! 

And kudos from me and my sister to my brother for being our personal shopper, always on the lookout for things we would like! 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.