A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

First garden Peacock

So just had to be my blip today, my first butterfly photograph of the year and in the garden. It’s upside down but never mind, it’s enjoying the Pieris flowers just like the bees. It was joined soon after by a Tortoiseshell but as I lined up for a photo the cat emerged from under the bush. Shows how warm it was as it’s one of her favourite places to find shade.  

I’m sure I had a long wait last year to see a Peacock in the garden.

Did a bit more tidying at the top of the garden as Chris pruned back the yellow Hamamelis tree.

Had our coffee outside and I did some crossstitch. I’ve finished the Blackwork and Imforget I’d had this one given but my friend. Not a gift but one she had acquired and didn’t want to do. It’s a family tree and I’ve had to do a bit of adaptation to the design for tow names on the bottom. It’s French and there are no symbols or numbers on the threads! We’ll just have to see how it goes on.
Chris is cutting the lawns for the first time and the washing has been out and dry.
Just made the most of what might be the last day of this lovely spring sun by being in the garden. Mire Stellata fliers out today and lots of open flowers too on the main magnolia. Oh dear, can’t help but feel it’s too soon but it’s been good to see,and enjoy them this afternoon. 

In about an hour we will be setting off to sing at our first ATN Community Singing event of the year. It’s a function to raise money for one of our adopted charities, Down’s Syndrome, Bingley. Really looking forward to it.

Extra. These came yesterday of my little Jude in the garden looking so cute ( you wouldn’t think it was the warmest day of the year so far!) 
She went to nursery as she is now negative for Covid unlike the rest of the family. She was there an hour and had to come home as she has spots - hand, foot and mouth!
Had a face time with them this morning as they had breakfast sitting outside on the terrace. I have to say they all looked fine. Eda had me ‘ flossing’ nit my teeth but the dance. She seemed delighted that ‘granny can do it’! Love that she’s painted the bug hotel I gave her for her magic tree when they visited last month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.