Railway Wedding

A very busy day at Aber cafe today.   Most of the weddings that take place here are folk who want to 'do different' for heir big day but today was different.  Both bride and groom are Talyllyn volunteers and they met through their work here.   With lovely weather, it was a very happy crowd who lingered long in the sunshine after the buffet lunch we laid on.   (Yes, the groom is the very tall young man in the top hat.  He sometimes wears a Victorian style stovepipe hat when volunteering but was "not allowed" to wear it today!)

My day started on the wrong foot as having picked up everything I needed for the cafe from Wharf, I arrived at Aber to the realisation that I had failed to pick up the cafe keys!   So it was a morning playing catch-up with the added complication of making the sandwiches for the wedding party of eighty people whilst also preparing food on demand for the railway's other travellers.  Teamwork is everything and it's pleasing to report that all went well, a feeling of a job well done at the end of the afternoon. 

On getting home I had a visit from a local chap who is going to make my greenhouse base next week and then off to exercise Meg at the ball field.  Katie, who minds Meg while I work, stayed for tea and we're about to enjoy a baked sponge pudding.   Another good day :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.