Paul Lake in the Rain

Where to go on a 
wet, drizzly day? I think
I will drive uphill! 

~ carliewired

I really dragged my feet this morning. My deck was already wet when I got up at 6. The valleys were socked in completely. The day called for rain showers. It was 6 C when I left the house at 8:30. 

I decided to drive up the hill to Paul Lake. I haven't been there since the early fall. I parked by the community mailboxes near the campground entrance. It was all very quiet. 

The lake still holds a lot of ice. There is some open water in the shallow areas. Ducks were making the most of those spots - mallards, merganzers and Barrows goldeneye. It was raining lightly when I arrived making lovely little droplets on the vegetation. The west end of the lake has a number of all seasons homes. I enjoy seeing the collection of canoes stored along the shore. The sun was trying to come through the clouds making a feeble reflection on the open water. 

On my way back down, I found a hillside covered in yellow blossoms. I managed to find a place to pullover to get a look at an individual plant. I think this is a variety of buttercup. I was very pleased to find something in bloom. 

I stopped at the drive-thru for my late breakfast to take home. I'm in on this soggy day working on my quilted hearts that will be released during the coming week. I plan to have a Greek dinner with my daughter later this afternoon. 

The forecast is for a day of showers with a high of 14 C. Tomorrow promises to be much the same. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.