NORWICH...on a work day!

Yes! I've ventured into County Hall again (third picture for non Norfolk friends). Chose a new route today which wasn't without its hiccups, but hopefully - as I wait for the bus - minor ones.

I left home at 7.08. It is significant, because I'd calculated that in order to get the 7.45 Park and ride bus from Sprowston I should leave at 7. That hour they took back yesterday to give us a longer day, meant getting up at 6.15 was impossible. I got up at 6.30 so did pretty well to be out at 7.08 and I got to the P&R at 7.43. So raced out of my car to catch the almost empty bus.

Had my first day working with colleagues in the new area allocated to Pensions - the mezzanine - this should mean no more uncomfortable confrontations with other council staff who are not happy with us hot decking in 'their' space. We do only have 4 desks though, so at present have to book with a colleague so that there aren't more people turning up, than are allowed to work. Due to covid we are still restricted to every other desk...but apparently don't need to wear masks now. There were 4 of us, and barely anyone else on the other floors. Easy access to a small kitchen area and toilets upstairs. The most annoying bit is having to take everything in, every time we go - so cups, spoon, tea, coffee, calculator, pens, notes, notepad, as well as my laptop. With lunch and my handbag too, it adds up to a heavy load.

At lunch time it was beautiful and I walked to Riverside to see how long it would take. (15 mins if you're interested) I tried on a couple of dresses in Next, and bought one of them. The other I liked, but didn't like the me I saw from behind in the changing room mirrors. It clung to too many bumps.

A short afternoon as the 502 bus times back to the P&R are only one an hour. Even that (I'm now on it) at 4.17 doesn't go all the way to the car, so I've had to change at the Bus Station, wait 20 minutes and get on another 502. No wonder noone is working at County Hall. It is such a mammoth task just to get there and back. But it's been pleasant and I met a new member of our team who started her job with us today. Matthew was doing her induction, so I've had someone else to talk to as well. In all its been good, and I hope to make it a regular thing.

Hope I'll be home by about 5.30. That's still in daylight...and I have 50 more onions to plant, or maybe ill just go for a walk with Jon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.