A happy mother's day

I did a few jobs this morning and then all 5 of us had coffee in the garden. Poor Mollie was banished to the French Quarter- over the water - well, the pond, from the rest of us on the patio. I make it sound like we live on a sprawling estate :-). I received beautiful cards and presents from all 3 of my children, which I really didn't expect. It's special just to all be able to spend the day together. Daniel washed my car and Henry changed a fuse so that my cigarette light (for charging my phone) now works.

Jon cooked dinner, while I moved my craft bits and pieces around from one box to another, and put prices on everything. I think people prefer it if they can see a price. I didn't actually do any sewing apart from a button on one bag. I've got one other bag half made, but again I'm not putting pressure on myself to finish it. If I do, by Saturday, then I will add it to my stall. But I'm generally trying to lower my personal goals and expectations of myself. I'm doing it at work too. I will do what I can, and no more.

At 5 o'clock I cycled up to the allotment hoping to plant some onions and shallots. So many of the onions I planted in the autumn have just rotted in the clay wet soil over winter. But today the soil is now rock hard, and took me an age to chip away at it, to be able to plant any. I managed 50 red onions, and 10 more shallots. I also picked lots of purple sprouting broccoli and collected the eggs. Obviously I had lots of help from these two!

I got back home at 7, and Jon cooked me a boiled egg for tea - freshly laid today. Then a nice hot bath. Heading to bed now.

Hoping all of you have had an enjoyable Mothering Sunday, regardless of whether you are a mother or not! I certainly have, thanks to my loving family x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.