Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Dastardly 11

My 11th entry into this year's visual yard bird record, the Brown Headed Cowbird (male), a species reviled by many birders in the US.  Why, you ask? Because this species is a brood parasite meaning that the female lays her eggs (one each) in the nexts of other, smaller species.  Usually the cowbird egg hatches first and the youngster outcompetes its nest mates, often resulting in the death of the other young.  In this respect, this bird is like Europe's Cuckoos.  It's a strange behavior, but it is how this bird evolved.  You can't really blame a wild creature for doing the thing that goes naturally, can you?  I don't mind them although it is somewhat disturbing to see a finch or bunting or warbler feeding an enormous cowbird fledgling.  

I dropped Jax off at Day Care this morning where he was completely happy to trot off with Lauren, not even sparing me a sad look over the shoulder.  Lauren said she had her dog, Gidget there today, so I know Jax has had some good play time.  And I have had some precious "me" time.  I ran some errands after dropping him off, then set up my hide on the patio, did some house work (while letting the birds get used to the hide) and then spent almost 3 glorious hours hunkered down in my hide, snapping pictures to my heart's content.  It is still quite chilly today but I was bundled up and didn't mind a bit.  And now I've got my feet propped in front of the fire working on my MacBook.  Bliss.  

I'll pick Jax up in an hour and a half.  Hopefully he will be exhausted but if not, I'll take him for a walk on the lane.  

And dark with cranberries today - a delicious combo.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.