Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Tea and cakes (and biscuits and scones)

Today there were 14 of us for tea. Thirteen were the group of us walkers who are going to Bulgaria in June, plus Mum. (She made a brief appearance, but the noise of the chatter was overwhelming so she gracefully retreated to her own lounge.)

We were looking at photos from my holiday last year and discussing the provisional programme of walks and excursions devised for us by Hazel at Hotel Pirila in Dolno Draglishte. I'd done some home baking and in the image you are looking at vanilla butter creams. There are almond macaroons and walnut toffee squares in the background. Jeanie and Maureen brought scones, Alistair made a Victoria sandwich cake, Lesley make squidgy chocolate brownies and Mum made her famous lemon drizzle cake.

Diets start tomorrow! We always used to do lots of baking when I was at home as a girl, but nowadays I rarely do any. I gather that afternoon tea at posh hotels is becoming very popular again. Locally the baking at chapels and for coffee mornings continues unabated.

Time to put my feet up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.